Company Profile

Luna Innovations Incorporated (AKA: Luna Technologies~Fiber & Sensor Technologies Inc~F&S Inc~Lumin Inc)
Profile last edited on: 11/2/2023      CAGE: 0P029      UEI: SJHFCDGKJJC5

Business Identifier: Advanced fiber optic-based technology
Year Founded
First Award
Latest Award
Program Status
Popularity Index
Is this YOUR Company?
Ensure accuracy and completeness of YOUR Company Profile by completing the brief Survey Instrument attached
Do you know about this Awardees?
Let us encourage you to provide any data which would enhance the completeness of this firm's profile.

Location Information

301 1st Street Sw Suite 200
Roanoke, VA 24011
   (540) 769-8400
Location: Multiple
Congr. District: 06
County: Roanoke city

Public Profile

SBIR active from soon after the firm was founded in 1990 and still very much program involved across the range of agencies, Luna Innovations Incorporated organizes around fiber optic sensing, and test and measurement products with two operations segments, Products and Licensing, and Technology Development. The Products and Licensing segment offers fiber optic sensing products, test and measurement products to monitor the integrity of fiber optic network components and sub-assemblies, which include optical vector analyzer, optical backscatter reflectometers, and the Phoenix family of tunable lasers; and distributed sensing systems comprising optical distributed sensor interrogator sensing solution with multiple sensors whose inputs are integrated through a fiber optic network and software. This segment also offers optoelectronic solutions for various applications, such as metrology, missile guidance, flame monitoring, temperature sensing, particle detection, color sensing, infrared detection, and other applications; and terahertz sensing systems, which are used to measure and verify physical properties online and in real-time. In addition, this segment conducts applied research in the fiber optic sensing area for corporate and government customers. The Technology Development segment provides applied research for customers principally in the areas of sensing and instrumentation, advanced materials, and health sciences. The company sells its products to telecommunications companies, defense agencies, government system integrators, researchers, original equipment manufacturers, distributors, testing labs, and strategic partners directly, as well as through manufacturer representative organizations, partner and distribution channels, technical sales engineers, value added resellers, and independent sales representatives.

Extent of SBIR involvement

User Avatar

Synopsis: Awardee Business Condition

Employee Range
Revenue Range
VC funded?
Publicly Traded
Stock Info
IP Holdings

Awards Distribution by Agency

Key People / Management

  My E Chung -- President and Chief Executive Officer

  Scott A Graeff -- President and Chief Executive Officer

  Gustave Anderson

  Michael Arlen

  Stephen Baka

  Benjamin Beck

  John B Beck

  Ms Beck

  Ulrike Becker

  Valeriy Bezmelnitsyn

  David Blaker -- Vice President of Engineering

  George Boggs

  Andrew Boulanger -- Mechanical Engineer

  Clark Boyd

  Nikolai Braun

  Nathan Brown

  Mark Bucciero

  J Paige Buchanan

  Gheorge Bunget

  Blaine Butler

  Charles Carfagna

  Brooks Childers

  Izabela Ciesielska Wrobel

  Paul A Clark

  Kevin Cooper

  Lauren Costella

  Patrick Cottler

  Stephen Cravens

  Michael J Danilich

  James Dante

  Matthew Davis

  Siddhartha De

  Jeffrey Demo

  Matthew Dewitt

  Bryan Dickerson

  Joel Domino -- former President

  Harry C Dorn

  Martin Drees

  Roger G Duncan

  Steve Engeman

  Kevin Farinholt

  Tyler Farnsworth

  Salvan Farooqui -- Senior Vice President of Global Sales & Marketing

  Robert S Fielder

  Kevin Flanagan

  Jerry Fleming

  Fritz Friederdorf

  Fritz J Friedersdorf

  Mark E Froggatt -- Chief Technology Officer

  Keith Furrow

  Paige Furrow

  Dan Gall

  James Garrett -- Vice President of Technology Development

  Dawn Gifford

  Adam Goff

  Richard Goff

  Jonathan Graf

  Jeffrey Grant

  Jonathan A Greene

  Michelle Grimm

  Jonas C Gunter

  Laura Habersack

  John Hallman

  Robert Harman

  Eva Hartmann -- Senior Vice President of Human Resources

  Alan Heaney

  Joseph S Heyman

  Marc S Hirsch

  Brian Holloway

  Emily Horrell

  Jianhua Huang

  Matthew S Hull

  James Inge

  Alan Jamison

  Robert Jeffers

  Lauri Jenkins

  Mark E Jones -- Research Scientist II

  Steve Joslin

  Jesse Kelly

  Talfourd H Kemper Jr -- VP and General Counsel

  Christopher L Kepley

  Nikita Kevlich

  Dave Kingma

  Robert Klein

  Daniel R Klemer

  Jackie Kline -- Senior Vice President of Operations

  Sandra Klute

  Bryan E Koene

  Daniel Kominsky

  Robert Lacovara

  Evan M Lally

  Robert P Lenk

  Ben Lepene

  Lee W Lerner

  Siqi Li

  Hongliang "joe" Liang

  Garnett S Linkous

  Yanjing Liu

  Shufang Luo

  John E Lynch

  Ted Lynch

  Russell G May

  Geoffrey McCarty -- Vice President of Marketing

  Laura McGrath

  Mark McKenna

  Scott A Meller -- former President, Technology Development Division

  Matthew Merrill

  Dale Messick -- Chief Financial Officer

  Daniel Metrey

  Tammy Metroke

  Mark Miller

  Steven Moore

  Mark Morton

  Kent A Murphy -- Former president- founder

  Gene Nestro -- Chief Financial Officer

  Krista Niece

  Judy Obliosca

  Osgar "john" Ohanian -- Director, Technology Development

  Shi-Hau Own

  Matthew E Palmer

  Paul Panetta

  Jiebin Pang

  Daniel Peairs

  Renee Pedrazzani

  Michael Pedrick

  Charles D Pennington

  Alexandra Poetter

  Barry Polakowski

  Michael Pruzan

  Wade J Pulliam

  Mateja Putic

  Mark Radovich

  Matthew T Reaves

  Joshua (David) Remer

  Brian Rife

  Martin E Rogers

  Derek Rountree

  Steven Derek Rountree

  Eric Sanborn

  Alex Sang

  Adel K Sarrafzadeh

  MrPratik Shah

  Guoqing Shen

  Aaron C Small

  Jeffrey A Smith

  Josh Smith

  Brian Soller -- Chief Operating Officer

  Anthony Spivey

  J Paige Stevenson

  Steven A Stevenson

  Kelly Stinson-Bagby

  Katie Sucre

  Nathaniel Talley

  Carey Tanner -- Principal Investigator

  Emily H Templeton

  Christopher Tison

  Daniela Marciu Topasna

  Omar Torrens

  Tuan Tran

  Kevin Urish

  Mike Usberghi

  Fernando Farelas Valencia

  Roger Van Tassell

  Michael Vercellino

  Christy Vestal

  Kelley Virgilio

  Thomas A Wavering

  Matthew Webster

  Christopher Westcott

  Stephen Wilson

  Yang Xu

  Balakishore Yellampalle

  Guandong "gordon" Zhang

  Zhiguo Zhou

  Ziyou Zhou

  David Zimdars

  Zhou Ziyou